History of the RVVA


On January 8, 2001, fourteen people attended a meeting at Bill Jenkin’s house on Burma Road, and most of those people became the core of what was later to become the Ramona Valley Vineyard Association (RVVA). Bill Schweitzer was elected the first president of the official association. In later years, Rich McClellan and John York served as president, with Micole Moore serving as the current president.

Over the past ten years, thanks to the hard work and determination of several association members, many significant events occurred that have contributed to the growth of the local wine grape and wine industry. Ramona Valley was designated an official American Viticultural Area (AVA) in January 2006. In 2010, again after a lot of tenacious effort by association members, the San Diego County zoning ordinance was amended to create a four tier winery definition, commonly referred to as the Boutique Winery Ordinance, allowing very small wineries to offer tasting rooms.

The Association continues to focus on community, education, sustainable operation of vineyards and wineries, and taking a leadership role within the San Diego County wine grape industry.

Powered by WishList Member - Membership Software